candles and cupcakes

The other day I was busy doing schoolwork at my kitchen table when one of my housemates came up to me and asked if I liked candles. The question seemed incredibly out of the blue until he clarified that every time he saw me working at the table I seemed to have a candle burning beside me.
Indeed, one of my favourites was currently flickering on the table (if you don’t own this candle, you need to get it now. I don’t care if you don’t like candles, this one is amazing).

This made me realize that I almost constantly keep a candle alight somewhere nearby when I’m in the house.  The lovely light and awesome smells are part of the little things that bring me delight throughout the day.

This post is one of many to come that will detail things that may seem insignificant but that often bring me happiness and could perhaps make you happy too. An idea from Robert Brault that I really love is this: “Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things”. Lighting candles and other similar practices may seem insignificant but I really believe they can make big differences in your day.

One element of life that is almost guaranteed to brighten my day is good food, especially desserts. While I am not the greatest at cooking, I am a moderately confident baker and will often whip up something when the mood strikes me. Recently, the mood struck and some cupcakes were called for. To end off this post, here is a straightforward and simple recipe for vanilla cupcakes I found online.

(Makes about 20 cupcakes)

Cupcake

For the cupcakes you will need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • Cupcake tray

 

Preheat your oven to 375°F and line a muffin tray with baking cups.
Cream the butter and sugar together and then beat the eggs in one at a time.
Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt and then add portions of this to the mixture, alternating with milk. Stir in the vanilla.

When a nice and smooth consistency has been reached, divide the mixture evenly into the cupcake tray.
Bake for 18 minutes then let it cool in the pan. I was too eager and began icing too early and the icing began to melt so trust me, cool your heels and wait for the cupcakes to cool a bit.

2014-03-23 18.38.04I made my own icing from this recipe but I must say: if you are like me and have no appliances to mix for you, it may be best to just buy pre-made icing. I almost gave up halfway through mixing because it was rather tiresome (and I have no patience and was super bored). For my pride’s sake I stuck with it and made some absolutely delicious icing that I dyed purple with food coloring. I will leave it up to you to decide if it is worth it. One bonus to making your own: you get a little bit of a workout with the mixing so shoving multiple cupcakes in your face immediately after seems a little more justifiable.

 

Leave a Reply

