my go to sweet treat: banana chips

While thinking of a post that would help me ease my way into blogging, an obvious option sprang quickly to my mind. What could be more perfect as an intro to easy delight than my go-to easy dessert?

Like a lot of people, I have a major problem with snacking when I’m bored. Unfortunately, my laziness encourages me to just pick any option that will satisfy my sweet tooth but does nothing for my sweet body (…totally kidding, my body is still stellar).

While I have strived to stop snacking on things like chocolate chips (seriously, they are my weakness), I have had no desire to completely drop all sweet snacks from my life.
One day, the perfect solution presented itself in the form of a blog post on A Beautiful Mess. The sweet and salty banana chips they prepared are perfect for getting some sugary goodness while pretending you are making a healthier choice.

With no further ado, here is how to make this simple and sweet treat.

Dipping banana in brown sugar

You will need:

  • One or two bananas, depending on how hungry you are
  • Brown sugar
  • Knife and cutting board
  • Baking tray and parchment paper
  • Vegetable oil
  • Oven

First, preheat your oven to 400°F.

I like to set up a mini assembly line with a banana or two on a cutting board, a bowl of brown sugar (make sure there are no lumps) and my baking sheet prepped with lightly oiled parchment paper on top.

Cut the banana(s) into thin slices then dip both sides into the brown sugar. The brown sugar layer should be relatively light but I have no self control so my slices get coated pretty heavily.

Lay out the dipped banana pieces on the baking sheet and put the sheet in the oven for 15-20 minutes.  When the brown sugar melts and the edges begin to crisp you can take the sheet out and let the chips cool for a short while.

Completed banana chips

I got bored of waiting so these aren’t fully done.
They were still delicious though

If you can manage to not gobble them all down in one go, the chips can be stored for a short while in an airtight container. If you are like me, though, they’ll be gone in a flash. Luckily, they are so easy to prepare and you can quickly bake another batch the next time the urge strikes you.
If the urge does strike you, let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

