watch my terrible baking! chocolate lava cakes!

And now for something completely different: a video I put together for you! Watch below to learn how to make an absolutely divine chocolate lava cake.

I have been absolutely obsessed with these desserts for a long, long time now and I have been hit several times for a craving for them. While I learned this year that Domino’s Pizza has a lava cake and have indulged in it a few times, I always find myself vaguely unsatisfied with them. I think they just seem a little too artificial from me and I’m wary about what exactly has gone into them.
As I was watching YouTube videos by How To Cook That, a channel filled with numerous fantastic desserts, I came across a video to meet all my lava cake needs.
I decided to try my hand at it and film the process so you can see just how easy it is to make as this was my very first attempt to make it and I managed just fine. Watch the video and then check out the more detailed recipe and instruction after if you want to experience this decadent delight.

For the chocolate tops you will need:

About two cups of melted chocolate. If you are using real chocolate (i.e. if it has Cocoa Butter in the ingredients) you will have to temper it. There are plenty of sources online that can explain how to do that but I would recommend you simply use fake chocolate to make things easier for yourself. Melt the chocolate and spread it out flat. Set it aside to cool. As you can probably see in my video, my chocolate topping was not entirely set but it still tasted great so whatever.

For the brownie base you will need:

  • 2 cups melted butter
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¾ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ¼ cups self-raising flour (or regular flour with 1 ½ tsp baking powder)

Mix all of the brownie ingredients together and then pour into a baking tray lined with baking paper.  If you want you can sprinkle in stuff like nuts or chopped chocolate but keep in mind this will make it more difficult to cut later.

Bake the brownies at 360°F until a you can poke with a knife and have it come out clean. I forgot to keep track of how long it took mine to bake but just keep checking on them and you will be fine.

When fully baked, allow the brownies to fully cool and then use a circular tool to separate them into pieces. Remove a smaller circle from the centre of these pieces and fill that hole with ganache (I used about 2 cups of milk chocolate with ¼ cup of milk but feel free to make whatever ganache you prefer).

Use the circular tool to cut a disc out of the chocolate topping and place it on your brownie piece. Drizzle warm ganache on top and watch it melt through.
The sight of chocolate oozing out is quite delightful but, if you are like me, you don’t have time for that pretty business. That cake is getting in your mouth pronto.

Leave a Reply

